Fairy Cakes….. who doesn’t love them?

I don’t like the American ‘fashion’ for cupcakes much, I prefer nice, English Fairy Cakes myself!

Today I made the basic mix, by stirring in 125g butter (recipes say unsalted but life is too short to go looking…) 100g Castor Sugar ( I always use less sugar than a recipe says) and two eggs, mix all this into a batter.

eggs and butter and sugarThen add 125g SR Flour and mix. I’ll now admit I don’t sift either, I am such a slutty cook!

DSC08035

Add to paper cases, and bake on 200 degrees (Gas 6) for about 20 minutes.

DSC08036Now if I recall one thing from Mrs Breakspeare (cookery teacher at Manor Farm) I learnt that you add mix into cake cases carefully to avoid any spills of mix up the sides of the case.  Ensuring your finsihed items are neat and tidy.

DSC08041I made some butter icing and decorated with that plus Dolly Mixtures.

DSC08043

Do be aware though, that if you leave these cakes in a tin for a few days, then the Dolly Mixtures go a little soft to the touch, but I doubt they will last that long!DSC08042

Leave a Reply

